KEDRI - HIS '06 & NCEI '06


AUT Main Nav
Centre Banner
Main Content

HIS '06 & NCEI '06

6th International Conference on Hybrid Intelligent Systems (HIS’06) and 4th Conference on Neuro-Computing and Evolving Intelligence (NCEI’06) 

HIS’06 logo NCEI’06 logo

13-15 December 2006, AUT Technology Park, Auckland, New Zealand

*** News: Paper submission deadline has been extended to 30 August 2006 ***
*** Author notifications will be send by September 18, 2006 ***
*** Deadline for Submission of Camera-Ready Papers and author registration: September 30, 2006 ***

General Chairs:
Nik Kasabov, KEDRI, AUT, New Zealand (
Mario Köppen, Fraunhofer IPK, Germany (

Programme Co-Chairs:
Andreas Koenig, University of Kaiserslautern, Germany (
Ajith Abraham, Chun-Ang University, Korea (
Qun Song, KEDRI, AUT, New Zealand (

Venue: Auckland, the City of Sails.  The Auckland region is an antipasto of environments laid out on a huge platter to make one amazing city, boasting three harbours, two mountain ranges, 48 volcanic cones and more than 50 islands. Auckland is by far the largest and most vibrant city of New Zealand.

Objectives: Hybridization of intelligent systems is a promising research field of computational intelligence focusing on synergistic combinations of multiple approaches to develop the next generation of intelligent systems. A fundamental stimulus to the investigations of Hybrid Intelligent Systems (HIS) is the awareness that combined approaches will be necessary to be able to solve hard problems in artificial intelligence. Neural computing, machine learning, fuzzy logic, evolutionary algorithms, agent-based methods, quantum computing, among others, have been established and shown their strength and drawbacks. Applications span across all disciplines of Science, Business, Engineering, Medicine, Health, Environment, Social Sciences. Neuro-Computing  (NC)  is  an  area  of  computer  science  and  engineering  concerned  with  the development, implementation, realisation and application of computational models that mimic the brain in its main functions of adaptive learning, predictive generalisation, and knowledge discovery.  Using NC and hybrid system to build intelligent systems that evolve their structure, their functionality and their knowledge representation over time through interaction with the environment, called evolving intelligence (EI) is a major focus of the conference.

The  three  days  event  will  include  tutorials, invited  talks,  oral  presentations,  poster  presentations  and  various  demonstrations  of neuro-computing  and hybrid systems  for :  bioinformatics  and  biomedical  applications,  biometric and security, brain  study  and  cognitive engineering,  agriculture,  environment,  decision  support,  business and finance, speech-, image-  and  multimodal  information  processing,  process  control, arts and design. 

Topics include:

  • Novel neurocomputing methods
  • Novel methods of soft computing for adaptive modelling and knowledge discovery
  • Methods of evolving intelligence (EI)
  • Novel methods for Hybrid intelligent systems (HIS)
  • Hybrid NN-, fuzzy-, evolutionary- algorithms
  • Cellular automata
  • Artificial Life systems
  • Evolving molecular processes and their modelling
  • Evolving processes in the brain and their modelling
  • Evolving language and cognition
  • Molecular computing
  • Quantum information processing
  • Quantum inspired computational intelligence
  • HIS for neuro-informatics
  • HIS for Bioinformatics
  • Adaptive speech, image and multimodal processing
  • Adaptive decision support systems
  • Dynamic time-series modelling
  • Adaptive control
  • Adaptive intelligent systems on the WWW
  • Applications in: Medicine, Health, Information Technologies, Horticulture, Agriculture, Bio-security, Business and finance, Process and robot control, Arts and Design.
  • Adaptive integrated/embedded systems for EI
  • Agent based systems for EI
Invited speakers:
  • Prof. Takeshi Yamakawa, Kyushu Institute of Technology
  • Prof. Andreas Koenig, University of Kaiserslautern
  • Prof. Alessandro Villa, Laboratoire de Neuro-heuristique, Universite de Lausanne Switzerland
  • Mario Köppen, Fraunhofer IPK
  • Prof. Takeshi Furuhashi, Nagoya University

Submission and Registration: Tutorial and organised session proposals to be sent by email to the co-chairs.  Full paper of 4 pages (A4 size) should be submitted through the conference website by 30th August 2006. Authors may use either Word or Tex format. The paper format is IEEE Computer Society Press 8.5'' x 11'' two-column format. Authors instruction can be found at

Up to six additional pages will be permitted for a charge of $100 per page. Final accepted papers are to be submitted by 20 September 2006.  Registration  fee  is  US$500 for  non-students  and  US$250 for  students. 

Publications: Proceedings will be published by IEEE Computer Society Press.  Selected and extended  papers  will  be  published  in  several  special  issues including the Int. Journal of Hybrid Intelligent Systems, Journal of Computational and Theoretical Nanoscience, Int.J. of Neural Systems, Int. J. Comp.-Aided Engineering.

International Programme Committee:

Abonyi Janos, Hungary
Adeli Hojjat, USA
Angelov Plamen, UK
Apolloni Bruno, Italy
Arbib Michael, USA
Asano Akira, Japan
Attikiouzel Yianni, Australia
Bajic Vladimir, South Africa
Bang Sung Yang, Korea
Benuskova Lubica, NZ
Berenji Hamid, USA
Boyanov Kiril, Bulgaria
Browne Wiliam, UK
Cassim Monte, Japan
Castillo Oscar, Mexico
Chiu David, Canada
Cho Sung-Bae, Korea
Coelho Leandro, Brazil
Coghill George, NZ
Corne David, UK
de Baets Bernard, Belgium
de Carvalho Andre, Brazil
de Macedo Mourelle Luiza, Brazil
Deb Suash, India
Defoin-Platel Michael, NZ
Deng Da, NZ
Diederich Joachim, Australia
Dimitrov Dimiter, USA
do Carmo Nicoletti Maria, Brazil
Duro Richard, Spain
Fedrizzi Mario, Italy
Fogel Gary, USA
Franke Katrin, Germany
Freeman Walter, USA
Furuhashi Takeshi, Japan
Ganzha Maria, Poland
Gedeon Tom, Australia
Gelbukh Alexander, Mexico
Giles Lee, USA
Gomide Fernando, Brazil
Grabot Bernard, France
Grosan Crina, Romania
Grzymala-Busse Jerzy, USA
Gulyaev Sergei, NZ
Halgamuge Saman, Australia
Havukkala Ilkka, NZ
Hawemdeh Suliman, USA
Hendtlass Tim, Australia
Herrera Francisco, Spain
Hoffmann Frank, Germany
Howell Bill, Canada
Igel Christian, Germany
Ionita Silviu, Romania
Ishibuchi Hisao, Japan
Ishida Yoshiteru, Japan
Jakubczyc Janina, Poland

Jan van der Zwaag Berend, Netherlands
Jin Yaochu, Germany
Kacprzyk Janusz, Poland
Karny Miroslav, Czech Republic
Kerre Etienne, Belgium
Klawonn Frank, Germany
Koczy Laszlo, Hungary
Korotkikh Galina, Australia
Korotkikh Victor, Australia
Langdon William, UK
Laws Mark, NZ
Lozano Sebastian, Spain
Ludermir Teresa Bernarda, Brazil
MacDonell Stephen, NZ
Magdalena Luis, Spain
Marcus Gary, USA
Mukkamala Srinivas, USA
Nakamatsu Kazumi, Japan
Nakao Zensho, Japan
Nedjah Nadia, Brazil
Nikravesh Masoud, USA
Nishikawa Ikuko, Japan
Nobuhara Hajime, Japan
Pal Nikhil, India
Palade Vasile, UK
Pang Shaoning, NZ
Paprzycki Marcin, Poland
Pedrycz Witold, Canada
Pereira Francisco, Portugal
Precup Radu-Emil, PRomania
Raidl Guenther, Austria
Rajapakse Jagath, Singapore
Rodrigo Allen, NZ
Roy Rajkumar, UK
Ruiz-del-Solar Javier, Chile
Saad Ashraf, USA
Sato-Ilic Mika, Japan
Seiffert Udo, Germany
Semeraro Giovanni, Italy
Soria-Frisch Aureli, Spain
Tan Clarence, Singapore
Uchino Eiji, Japan
Veenhuis Christian, Germany
Villa  Alessandro, France
Vrahatis Michael N., Greece
Watts Mike, NZ
Weber Richard, Chile
Wermter Stefan, UK
Wright Jim, NZ
Yager Ronald R. , USA
Yager Ronald R., USA
Yamakawa Takeshi, Japan
Yoshida Kaori, Japan
Zhang Yan-Qing, USA
Zimmer Uwe, Australia

Local Organising Chair: Mrs Joyce D’Mello (; phone: +64 9 921 9504)
Technical Assistance: Peter Hwang (

Last updated: 02 Dec 2011 10:07am

Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand | Copyright © | Privacy | Site map